News and events

Dame Malvina semi-finalist for Senior New Zealander of the Year

Dame Malvina has been named a semi-finalist in the Ryman Healthcare Senior New Zealander of the Year category of the 2023 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards Ngā Tohu Pou Kōhure o Aotearoa.

The awards recognise the people who are creating a legacy for tomorrow. The ones who have made a positive contribution to Aotearoa later in their life, actively involved in making the world around them a better place.

The 2023 semi-finalists are:

Dame Malvina Major ONZ GNZM DBE (Kirikiriroa Hamilton)

In 2022, Dame Malvina Major ONZ GNZM DBE achieved a lifelong goal with the launch of Te Pae Kōkako – The Aotearoa New Zealand Opera Studio, supporting talented young New Zealand singers at the University of Waikato.

Graham Roy Falla (Tāmaki Makaurau, Auckland)

For over five decades, Graham Roy Falla has championed the restoration and preservation of his local environment; generously sharing time and knowledge with his community.

Dr Haare Williams MNZM (Tāmaki Makaurau, Auckland)

Dr Haare Williams MNZM has dedicated his life to bridging the distance between Te Ao Māori and Te Ao Pākehā, making a significant contribution to Māoridom in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Hansa Naran (Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland)

A passionate advocate for women and families, Hansa Naran is well known in Manukau for her tireless community service spanning over 30 years.

Joy Cowley (Featherston)

Joy Cowley is a New Zealand literary legend who has inspired generations with her warmth, imagination and commitment to sharing stories.

Dr Kantilal Patel QSM (Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland)

Over the last 45 years Dr Kantilal Patel QSM has earned a reputation as a community leader, general practitioner and philanthropist in Otara, South Auckland.

Marie Jujnovich (Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland).

Dedicated, selfless and deeply compassionate, Marie Jujnovich has dedicated her life to supporting children and whānau impacted by childhood heart conditions.

Mark Dunajtschik (Te Whanganui-a-Tara, Wellington)

A concentration camp survivor turned remarkable philanthropist, Mark Dunajtschik has overcome devastating adversity to ultimately change lives across Aotearoa.

Matthew Te Pou MNZM MBE BEM (Whakatāne)

Considered a Rangatira (esteemed chief) for his people, former soldier, rugby coach and community leader Matthew John Te Pou MNZM MBE BEM has lived his life in service to others.

Professor Sir Pou Temara KNZM (Hamilton, Kirikiriroa)

Professor Sir Pou Temara (Ngāi Tūhoe) is an internationally renowned professor of Māori language, knowledge and culture.

Finalists will be named in March 2023 with winners announced on 30 March at the New Zealander of the Year Awards Gala.


Rhapsody Newsletter – Summer 2022/23


* indicates required
Please let me know about upcoming DMMF events in the following regions: